Primary Databases for Music
Library Information
Contact
  • library@gbs.edu 
  • 513-763-6657
  • Staff

Library Resources
Help
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Public Domain Music Scores
Note: Music scores in the public domain are usually editions published before 1923.

International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP)
Petrucci Music Library. Major database containing public domain scores; includes complete works of many composers.

Harvard College Library (Online Resources for Scholars of Music)
Repository of over 100 databases of music scores.

Sheet Music Consortium
The Sheet Music Consortium is a group of libraries working toward the goal of building an open collection of digitized sheet music using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting.

IMSLP Additional Score Databases
A list of additional score websites.
Study and Training Aids
MusicTheory.net
MusicTheory.net has a number of free tools for learning basic music theory, including customizable ear training sessions, elementary notation, rhythm and meter, and key signatures.

teoria.com
teoria.com is a web site dedicated to the study and practice of music theory. teoria.com has been developed by José Rodríguez Alvira.

Peter Schubert Videos
Videos from Musicologist Peter Schubert.

Dolmetsch Foundation's Music Theory and History Online
Online resource for the basics of notation, meter and rhythm, chord structures, etc.



 
Hymnological Resources
Hymnary.org
In partnership with The Hymn Society in the United States and Canada, Hymnary.org now houses the Dictionary of North American Hymnology -- making Hymnary.org the most complete database of North American hymnody on the planet.