Primary Databases for Psychology and Counseling
  • Academic Search Elite Restricted Resource Some full text available
    Academic Search Elite covers more than 2,300 full text journals, magazines, and newspapers and approx. 13,600 abstracted and indexed journals.
    Note: Access limited to current students and employees.
  • Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
    Academic Search Premier covers more than 4,700 full text journals, magazines, and newspapers.
    Note: Access limited to users with an Ohio IP address.
  • ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Restricted Resource Some full text available
    ATLASerials® (ATLAS®) is an online full-text collection of major religion and theology journals and provides coverage dating back to 1908 with indexing for some journal titles extending back into the 19th century.
    Note: Access limited to current students and employees. 
  • Consumer Health Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
    Consumer Health Complete is designed to support the information needs of patients and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. This resource provides content covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Contains a variety of relevant source types, including journals, magazines, books, pamphlets, images, videos and more. Included are full-text health reference books and encyclopedias such as American Medical Association Complete Medical Encyclopedia, Complete Guide to Prescription & Nonprescription Drugs 2012, Cornell Illustrated Encyclopedia of Health, Mayo Clinic Family Health Book and many more.
    Note: Access limited to users with an Ohio IP address.
  • Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
    The Directory of Open Access Journals contains approx. 9000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.
    Note: This is an Open Access (OA) resource.
  • ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
    ERIC contains more than 1.5 million records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents dating back to 1966. It includes records for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, policy papers and more. 
    Note: This is an Open Access (OA) resource.
  • JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
    JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.  
    Note: Access limited to current students and employees.
  • Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
    The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection resource is for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students, and provides extensive full-text coverage for a broad range of subjects in the fields of psychology, behavioral sciences and related disciplines.
    Note: Access limited to users with an Ohio IP address.
  • PubMed Central Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
    PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
    Note: Access limited to users with an Ohio IP address.
  • Science Online (Facts on File) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
    Science, math, and technology information articles, images, diagrams, videos, current events, experiments, and biographies.
    Note: Access limited to users with an Ohio IP address.
  • Science Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
    Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other reliable sources. In addition, the database includes a vast collection of images from sources such as UPI, Getty, NASA, National Geographic and the Nature Picture Library.
    Note: Access limited to users with an Ohio IP address.
Library Information
Contact
  • library@gbs.edu 
  • 513-763-6657
  • Staff

Library Resources
Help
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Psychology Web Resources
American Psychological Association

Cognitive Science Society
 
Counseling Web Resources
American Association of Christian Counselors
AACC is committed to assisting Christian counselors, the entire “community of care,” licensed professionals, pastors, and lay church members with little or no formal training. 

American Counseling Association
American Counseling Association promoting counselors through work in advocacy, research and professional standards.

American Mental Health Counselors Association
Enhances the profession of mental health counseling through advocacy, education and professional development.

Behavioral Health Treatment Services Locator (SAMHSA)
An online source of information for persons seeking treatment facilities in the United States or U.S. Territories for substance abuse/addiction and/or mental health problems.

National Board for Certified Counselors
The National Board for Certified Counselors, Inc. and Affiliates (NBCC) is a national certifying organization for professional counselors in the United States.
 

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) is the agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation.